Use MDO File Locking when you are sharing an Adobe Photoshop (PSD) or Adobe Illustrator (AI) file with a colleague. A file lock is used to prevent two people from opening and updating the same PSD or AI file at the same time, resulting in one person’s updates wiping out the other’s.

File Locking is available in the My Docs Online Desktop App, which works with all versions of Windows and Mac OS X.

File Locking is supported for all versions of Photoshop and Illustrator, including all Adobe Creative Suites.

My Docs Online Desktop App File Locking can also be used with other software products that open and update Adobe files.

To use the Desktop App for File Locking follow the following steps:

  • Select the Photoshop or Illustrator file you have previously uploaded to My Docs Online and click “Lock & Open”
  • The file will be locked on the MDO servers, downloaded to your PC or Mac, and opened for editing
  • After completing your editing Save & Close the file
  • In the Desktop App Click “Save & Unlock” for the file. Your changes will be uploaded to the MDO servers and the file will be unlocked. The date and time for the file will be updated

If you change your mind and need to discard your changes right-click the file in the Desktop App and select “Unlock without Saving”.

You can sign up for a free 15 day trial to quickly test the service here.